clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bulls Abroad: Matt Miazga confirmed as part of US U-20 Men's National Team roster for 2015 CONCACAF U-20 Championship

Miazga is heading to Jamaica...

Corky Trewin-USA TODAY Sports

He called it himself a few days ago...

...but now it is official: New York Red Bulls' Matt Miazga is part of the 20-man squad heading to Jamaica to contest the 2015 CONCACAF U-20 Championship. And try to qualify for 2015 U-20 World Cup (which is the prize for the top four teams at the end of the tournament).

The call-up is the culmination of good year for the young professional: six MLS starts (seven league appearances total) contributing to 500 minutes for his club in the 2014 regular season, as well as US Open Cup and CONCACAF Champions League appearances. And he made six starts in 2014 for the US U-20s, making him one of the more regular members of the age-group team over the last 12 months.

Now Miazga gets the chance to start his 2015 with a regional title, or at least the chance to spend part of the coming summer in New Zealand (where the U-20 World Cup will be held).

He was one of 21 players called up for a pre-tournament training camp by head coach Tab Ramos, and one of 18 of those players to make the final cut. The unlucky three to miss out are UCLA's Chase Gasper, Chivas Guadalajara's Luis Martir, and Toronto FC's Marco Delgado. Fulham's Emerson Hyndman and Tottenham Hotspur's Cameron Carter-Vickers have been added to the squad.

The full roster also includes former Red Bull Amando Moreno, now part of Club Tijuana's set up. The Liga MX club has become something of a USMNT factory outlet in recent seasons. It contributes four players to Ramos's squad in Jamaica (Paul Arriola, Fernando Arce and John Requejo being the other three).

The full squad:

Goalkeepers: Ethan Horvath (Molde FK), Zack Steffen (SC Freiburg)

Defenders: Cameron Carter-Vickers (Tottenham Hotspur), Conor Donovan (N.C. State), Matt Miazga (RBNY), Shaquell Moore (Unattached), John Requejo (Club Tijuana), Tyler Turner (Orlando City)

Midfielders: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Fernando Arce (Club Tijuana), Russell Canouse (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Junior Flores (Borussia Dortmund), Romain Gall (Columbus Crew), Lynden Gooch (Sunderland), Emerson Hyndman (Fulham)

Forwards: Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana), Bradford Jamieson IV (LA Galaxy), Amando Moreno (Club Tijuana), Ben Spencer (Molde FK), Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes)

The team will kick off its CONCACAF tournament on January 9 against Guatemala. Games are expected to be broadcast on Fox Sports 2.