clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bulls Abroad: Tim Cahill nominated for PFA Footballer of the Year 2013/14

He's still a Red Bull and still getting nominated for awards in Australia.

Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

Professional Footballers Australia (PFA), the Australian players' union, has announced its nominees for its Footballer of the Year award. And the New York Red Bulls' Tim Cahill is among them.

Cahill won the inaugural award, presented in 2009. He was runner-up in 2010, third in 2011, wasn't nominated in 2012, and picked up  a nomination but no great share of the votes in 2013. This will be his fifth nomination in the six-year history of the award. There has never been a two-time winner of the prize.

This year's favorite must be national team captain Mile Jedinak, who just collected his second consecutive Australian Footballer of the Year award from Football Federation Australia and is also the reigning Asian Football Confederation International Player of the Year. Jedinak has never won the PFA's top prize.

The award winner will be announced on January 15.