clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 OaM Awards: Offensive Player of the Year

Kljestan, Wright-Phillips, or Sam? Who was the best offensive player in 2015?

Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports

2015 was a great offesive year for the New York Red Bulls. The team tallied a total of 73 goals, 62 in MLS League Play, 3 in the MLS Cup Playoffs, and 8 in the US Open Cup. Three players topped a combined 20 goals and assists on the year, Bradley Wright-Phillips, Sacha Kljestan, and Lloyd Sam. All three of them were nominated for the 2015 OaM Awards: Offensive Player of the Year.

2015 OaM OPoY

As you can see, the fans were hard pressed to pick between Wright-Phillips and Kljestan. Sam was a distant third at 11% of the fan voting. Wright-Phillips came in second with 43% with Kljestan coming in first at 46%.

Kljestan was the biggest off season signing of the year, and was part of a midfield trio that included Dax McCarty & Felipe Martins. His 16 assists on the season was the best on the team, and he tied a team record for assists in league play.

Check back in tomorrow when we announce the winners for Defender of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, and Goal of the Year.