clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sky Blue FC 2015 Schedule Released

The path for the NJ based team to win the NWSL Championship is set.

Peter G. Aiken-USA TODAY Sports

The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) announced on Thursday the schedule for the upcoming 2015 season, with all teams playing a 20-match split of 10 home and away matches. The home venue for New Jersey side Sky Blue FC will once again be Yurcak Field on the campus of Rutgers University, where the club will be competing in its sixth professional season this year.

"With the schedule being released, we can now start building out our overall plans for the season," Sky Blue FC technical director and head coach Jim Gabarra stated. "The 2015 game schedule is spread out very well with a break for the World Cup, so it will not be overly strenuous on the players. The most important aspect of this season is that there will be more opportunities to train and prepare for each game, and that will give us the chance to place much more focus on each individual match."

Sky Blue FC will open its 2015 season on the road when it plays FC Kansas City at Sporting Park on Sunday, April 12th. The New Jersey side will then make its home debut at Yurcak Field the following weekend on Saturday, April 18th, hosting the Houston Dash at 7:00 p.m.

"This is a very exciting time of year," Sky Blue FC President and General Manager Tony Novo said. "Having the schedule gives us the blueprint to properly plan out the individual games and events for the season. With this being a World Cup year, women's soccer will truly be on the forefront of the international sports landscape. We look forward to another season of giving fans and supporters the opportunity to watch world class soccer right here in New Jersey."

Sky Blue FC is slated to play its home matches on weekend dates in 2015, while the team will play three road games on Fridays, four on Saturdays, two on Sundays and its remaining away match on a Wednesday evening.

The 2015 regular season will conclude in the middle of September and be followed by the league playoffs, which kicks off with two semifinal matches on the weekend of September 12-13th. The 2015 NWSL Championship Game will then be played on the weekend of September 26-27th to avoid potential FIFA dates.

Date Home Team Visiting Team Kickoff Time*
Sunday, April 12 FC Kansas City Sky Blue FC 4:00 PM
Saturday, April 18 Sky Blue FC Houston Dash 7:00 PM
Sunday, April 26 Sky Blue FC Washington Spirit 6:00 PM
Saturday, May 2 Chicago Red Stars Sky Blue FC 10:00 PM
Saturday, May 9 Sky Blue FC Seattle Reign FC 7:00 PM
Saturday, May 16 Washington Spirit Sky Blue FC 7:00 PM
Friday, May 22 Boston Breakers Sky Blue FC 7:00 PM
Sunday, May 31 Sky Blue FC Houston Dash 3:00 PM
Saturday, June 06 Seattle Reign FC Sky Blue FC 10:00 PM
Sunday, June 28 Sky Blue FC Chicago Red Stars 6:00 PM
Friday, July 3 Portland Thorns FC Sky Blue FC 10:00 PM
Saturday, July 11 Sky Blue FC Portland Thorns FC 7:00 PM
Sunday, July 19 Western New York Flash Sky Blue FC 3:00 PM
Saturday, July 25 Sky Blue FC Boston Breakers 7:00 PM
Saturday, August 1 Sky Blue FC Western New York Flash 7:00 PM
Friday, August 7 Houston Dash Sky Blue FC 8:30 PM
Wednesday, August 12 Chicago Red Stars Sky Blue FC 2:00 PM
Saturday, August 22 Sky Blue FC Portland Thorns FC 7:00 PM
Saturday, August 29 Seattle Reign FC Sky Blue FC 10:00 PM
Saturday, September 6 Sky Blue FC FC Kansas City 6:00 PM

* All times eastern.