clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three New York Red Bulls called into U-18 National Team


Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

A U-18 United States Men's National Team roster was assembled and -- as is the norm -- there are a few New York Red Bulls Academy players on it. Defenders Marcello Borges, Kyle Duncan, and Andrew Lombard were called in to the camp that runs from July 6th through the 14th. During this time, the U-18s will participate in the NTC Invitational Tournament which includes matches against Uruguay (July 11th) and the Czech Republic (July 13th). The matches will be streamed live on

The team already played a scrimmage against PSA Elite, winning 2-1 on goals from Ben Swanson and Coy Craft.

Borges is committed to the University of Michigan and has an Academy contract with New York Red Bulls II. Duncan, committed to Monmouth, trained with Ligue 1 power Paris Saint-Germain during the winter. Lombard is attending Northeastern in the fall. All three competed for the Red Bulls Academy U-18 team during the 2014-2015 season that won the Atlantic Division during the regular season and went 1-1-1 in group play at the Academy Playoffs.


Full Roster

GOALKEEPERS (2): Jonathan Klinsmann (Irvine Strikers; Newport Beach, Calif.), JT Marcincowski (San Jose Earthquakes; Alamo, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (6): Marcello Borges (New York Red Bulls; Kearny, N.J.), Kyle Duncan (New York Red Bulls; Brooklyn, N.Y.), Malcolm Jones (LA Galaxy; Chino Hills, Calif.), Andrew Lombard (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Pablo Pelaez (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire; Bolingbrook, Ill.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Cameron Lindley (Chicago Fire; Carmel, Ind.), James Murphy (PDA; Scotch Plains, N.J.), Emmanuel Sabbi (Chicago Magic; Libertyville, Ill.), Sebastian Saucedo (Real Salt Lake; Casa Grande, Ariz.), Ben Swanson (Columbus Crew SC; Grove City, Ohio), Jackson Yueill (Minnesota Thunder; Bloomington, Minn.),

FORWARDS (6): Mukwelle Akale (Villarreal CF; Minneapolis, Minn), Coy Craft (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Sebastian Elney (Philadelphia Union; Boca Raton, Fla.), Christian Lucatero (Houston Dynamo; Pasadena, Texas), Victor Mansaray (Seattle Sounders; Des Moines, Wash.), Haji Wright (New York Cosmos; Los Angeles, Calif.)