clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

RBNY Academy Products Named to Hermann Trophy Watchlist

Seniors Brandon Allen and Chris Thorsheim, and junior Adam Najem represent the Red Bulls on the 30 man watchlist.

Former MAC Hermann Trophy winner and current RBNY Sporting Director, Ali Curtis
Former MAC Hermann Trophy winner and current RBNY Sporting Director, Ali Curtis
Victor Decolongon/Getty Images

The MAC Hermann Trophy, college soccer's equivalent of the Heisman, is awarded every year to the most outstanding player of the season. The current holder is New York's very own Leo Stolz. The first round draft pick has yet to feature for the first team, but currently serves as New York Red Bulls II's playermaker, (and just scored this fantastic goal for NYRBII two days ago).

Stolz vs. Charlotte
Other former Hermann Trophy winners include numerous New York fan favorites, such as Alexi Lalas, Alecko Eskandarian, and Ali Curtis.

This is the second year running that Georgetown striker, Brandon Allen, has made the watch list. Expectations are high for the Georgetown man, who capped off a successful junior season for the Hoyas with a team leading 11 goals and an additional 3 assists. Allen looks to continue his goal scoring ways to finish out a very good college career and hopefully earn an elusive Hermann Trophy nomination.

Two other RBNY academy products made the list as well: Bucknell senior Chris Thorsheim and Akron junior Adam Najem. However, unlike Allen (who played his summer soccer with the Clarkstown Eagles in the NPSL), these two players featured for New York's PDL finalist U23 team this year. Najem, who was recently called into a USMNT U23 camp, is touted as one of college soccer's top midfielders, scoring 14 goals as a sophomore for the Zips. Thorsheim (a defensive midfielder) is somewhat under the radar, but on an impressive upward trend. The Bucknell man has already been named to the First Team All-Patriot League twice in three years, and has impressed many playing fullback for New York's PDL team this summer.

The full list of players to watch for this year's MAC Hermann Trophy, which includes Tanner Thompson (brother of San Jose highlight real sensation Tommy Thompson) and USMNT young stud Jordan Morriscan be found here.