clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

One New York Academy Product called into 2016 U-17 Residency

One New York Red Bulls Academy player named to the latest roster for the residency program in Bradenton, Florida.

Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

US Soccer and U-17 head coach John Hackworth recently released the 32-man list of players invited to US Soccer's spring residency program in Bradenton, Florida. Among those players was one New York Red Bulls Academy player, defender Christopher Gloster.

Gloster is from Montclair, New Jersey, and most recently featured for New York's U-13/14 team. Here he played 25 games, starting every one of them, and scored 3 goals. Gloster is now part New York's Under-16 team.

The U-17 residency program has helped launched the careers of many professional players, and while the program is slowly being faded out it remains a vital part of US Soccer's development pathway. Recently, Red Bulls Academy players  Matt Olosunde and Tyler Adams, prior to signing with New York Red Bulls II, have featured in the residency program.

The complete roster can be seen here:

Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (4): Alexander Budnik (Sockers FC; Arlington Heights, Ill.), Justin Garces (Kendall FC; Miami, Fla.), Quantrell Jones (Baltimore Celtic; Baltimore, Md.), Hunter Pinho (PDA; Cranford, N.J.)
DEFENDERS (9): Carlos Asensio (Roswell, Ga.; Georgia United), Michael Edwards (Woodbridge, Va.; D.C. United), Tyler Freitas (North Attleboro, Mass; New England Revolution), Jean-Julian Foe Nuphaus (San Jose, Calif.; San Jose Earthquakes), Christopher Gloster (Montclair, N.J.; New York Red Bulls), Benjamin Huynh (Seattle Sounders; Everett, Wash.), Ian Murphy (Redlands, Calif.; FC Golden State), Tyler Shaver (Riverside, Conn.; Beachside Soccer Club), Chandler Vaughn (D.C. United; Woodbridge, Va.)
MIDFIELDERS (11): George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Patrick Ajdukiewicz (Sockers FC; Barrington, Ill.), Isaac Angking (Providence, R.I.; New England Revolution), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Christopher Goslin (Georgia United; Locust Grove, Ga.), Ben Lederman (Barcelona, Spain; IMG Academy), James Sands (New York Soccer Club; Rye, N.Y.), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.), Adrian Villegas (Portland Timbers; Hood River, Ore.), Akil Watts (Fort Wayne, Ind.; IMG Academy)
FORWARDS (8): Ayomide Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ont.), Andrew Carleton (Georgia United; Powder Springs, Ga.), Zyen Jones (Clarkston, Ga.; Georgia United), Niccolo Lemoine (Livermore, Calif.; De Anza Force), Alejandro Pereira (Oveido, Fla.; Orlando City FC), William Sands (Rye, N.Y.; New York Soccer Club), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O'Fallen, Mo.), Tonny Temple (IMG Academy; Millville, Pa.)