clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kelley O'Hara named to SheBelieves Cup roster

Sky Blue FC defender featured on roster for the four-team international tournament.

Chris Covatta/Getty Images

The U.S. Women’s National Team hosts the inaugural SheBelieves Cup, an international tournament consisting of three doubleheaders featuring four of the top-five women’s national teams in the world. Competing with the U.S. are the women’s national teams of England, France and Germany.

Kelley O’Hara, defender for Sky Blue FC, was one of the 22 players on Jill Ellis’s roster for the tournament.

O’Hara was also one of 20 players to help the U.S. win the CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying tournament earlier this month, clinching a spot for the team in the Rio Olympics this summer.

During the CONCACAF tournament, O'Hara scored her second international goal, scoring in the 45' against Puerto Rico.

Fellow Sky Blue FC defender Christie Rampone was once again left off the roster, most likely still recovering from knee surgery in December.

The SheBelieves Cup kicks off on March 3 in Tampa, Florida, before moving on to Nashville, Tennessee, on March 6 and concluding in Boca Raton, Florida, on March 9.

The winner of the tournament will be based on total points earned. Three points will be awarded for a win, one point for a tie. If there is a tie in points, the first tie-breaker will be overall goal difference, followed by most tournament goals scored, then head-to-head result and finally by FIFA Ranking.

The full U.S. Women's National Team SheBelieves Cup Roster by position:

Goalkeepers (3): Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)

Defenders (9): Lauren Barnes (Seattle Reign FC), Whitney Engen (Boston Breakers), Jaelene Hinkle (Western New York Flash), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O'Hara (Sky Blue FC),  Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC)

Midfielders (6): Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (Western New York Flash), Heather O'Reilly (FC Kansas City)

Forwards (4): Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Mallory Pugh (Real Colorado)