clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

RBNY transfer news: No Red Bulls taken by LAFC in 2017 Expansion Draft; free agency set to begin

The Red Bulls roster is safe from Bob Bradley and LAFC.

MLS: New York Red Bulls at Columbus Crew SC Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

The entirety of the New York Red Bulls roster is safe at the end of the 2017 MLS Expansion Draft.

On Tuesday afternoon, expansion side LAFC were given five picks to make from the unprotected lists of the 22 other MLS teams.

The final picks were as follows:

  1. GK Tyler Miller (Seattle)
    2. F Latif Blessing (Sporting KC)
    3. M Marco Urena (San Jose)
    4. D Jukka Raitala (Columbus)
    5. M Raheem Edwards (Toronto)

After losing Chris Duvall in the expansion draft last year, there was an understandable fear within the New York Red Bulls fanbase that another player could be lost this year.

The notable inclusions on the Red Bulls’ unprotected list for the draft included Connor Lade, Muhamed Keita, and Aurelien Collin.

Keita seemed like a particular risk to be picked, as he used to play for Bob Bradley at Stabaek Fotball in Norway, earning high praise from the LAFC boss in the process.

But with the end of the Expansion Draft should come the end of any worries that the Red Bulls will lose a talented player for nothing.


MLS Free Agency is scheduled to open at 3:00 pm EST on Tuesday, with former Red Bulls Dilly Duka and Sal Zizzo eligible for other teams to grab. A sizable crop of veteran players will be available for the Red Bulls to take a look at, including Brad Evans, Chris Pontius, and Drew Moor.


On Wednesday at 3:30 pm EST, the MLS Waiver Draft will be held. However, no players were taken last year and only a handful of players are even eligible.


The MLS Re-Entry Draft (Phase I) will take place on Friday at 3:00 pm EST. Last year seven players were taken.