clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bulls Abroad: Chris Gloster named to USA U-17 Men's National Team squad for 2017 CONCACAF U-17 Championship

The RBNY Academy prospect has a CONCACAF Championship to play for this month.

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

The 2017 CONCACAF Men's U-17 Championship kicks off on April 21. The USA's squad for the tournament has been named, and the 20-man roster includes New York Red Bulls Academy prospect Chris Gloster.

Gloster has been a regular with the U-17s throughout its preparations for the CONCACAF Championship. The young full-back will be expected to contribute significant minutes to the USA's cause during the tournament in Panama. Four of the 12 teams in the CONCACAF Championship will advance to the 2017 U-17 World Cup, which will be held in India this October. The US is expected to be among CONCACAF's representatives at that competition, and Gloster should be one of the favorites to make the roster for India also.

But first the US U-17s must successfully navigate their way to a top-four finish at the CONCACAF Championship. Head coach John Hackworth's roster also includes forward Timothy Weah. Still best known for being the son of legendary Liberian striker George Weah, an all-time soccer great, Timothy is currently attached to Paris Saint-Germain's youth set-up, but was part of the RBNY Academy prior to his move to France.

The USA U-17s CONCACAF Championship squad in full:

GOALKEEPERS: Carlos Joaquim Dos Santos (Benfica; Philadelphia, Pa.), Justin Garces (Kendall SC; Miami, Fla.)

DEFENDERS: Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), James Sands (New York City FC; Rye, N.Y.), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.), Akil Watts (IMG Academy; Fort Wayne, Ind.)

MIDFIELDERS: George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Taylor Booth (Real Salt Lake AZ; Eden, Utah), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Christopher Goslin (Atlanta United FC; Locust Grove, Ga.), Indiana Vassilev (IMG Academy; Savannah, Ga.), Adrian Villegas (Portland Timbers; Hood River, Ore.)

FORWARDS: Ayomide Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ont.), Andrew Carleton (Atlanta United FC; Powder Springs, Ga.), Zyen Jones (Atlanta United FC; Clarkston, Ga.), Bryan Reynolds, Jr. (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O’Fallen, Mo.) Timothy Weah (Paris Saint-Germain; Rosedale, N.Y.)

The USA kicks off its CONCACAF Championship on April 23 against Jamaica. Matches are expected to be streamed on the CONCACAF Facebook page.