clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The 2017 U-17 World Cup field is set

The 24-team set of U-17 World Cup contenders is complete.

Daniel Berehulak/Getty Images

As the 2017 MLS regular season draws to a close later this year, the 2017 U-17 World Cup will kick off in India. The tournament starts on October 6 and runs to October 28. The draw to decide how teams are grouped won't be held until July 7, but we do at least know the 24 qualifiers, now that the 2017 Africa U-17 Cup of Nations has advanced to its final four (the top four AFCON U-17 teams all qualify for the U-17 World Cup).

The 24 qualifiers are as follows:

Host: India

AFC qualifiers

  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Japan
  • North Korea

CAF qualifiers

  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Mali
  • Niger

CONCACAF qualifiers

  • Costa Rica
  • Honduras
  • Mexico
  • USA

CONMEBOL qualifiers

  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Paraguay

OFC qualifiers

  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand

UEFA qualifiers

  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Spain
  • Turkey

The 24 teams will be divided into six groups of four for the group stage of the tournament. The draw will be held on July 7, 2017.