clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Concacaf Women’s Championship Rosters Announced

Johnson, Lloyd and Rodriguez selected for final 20-player roster for their respected countries

Sky Blue FC
Sky Blue FC players will be present on three teams during the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship starting Oct. 4th.
Photo by Jeffrey Auger

The 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship will take place Oct. 4-17 at three venues across the United States. The tournament features eight countries divided into two groups of four with each group’s top two finishers advancing from round-robin play to the semifinals. The two finalists and the winner of the third-place match will qualify directly to the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

The fourth-place finisher will earn a spot in a two-game playoff against Argentina, which finished third in South American qualifying, for a final berth to the tournament.

Several Sky Blue FC players will be competing with their respective counties during the tournament.

Carli Lloyd was named to the U.S. WNT 20-Player roster. The USA will look to defend its title after winning in 2014. The U.S. defeated Mexico 3-0 in the semifinal to qualify for the 2015 Women’s World Cup, and then took down Costa Rica 6-0 in the title game.

Raquel Rodriguez was selected to represent Costa Rica, while Katie Johnson made the final 20-player roster for Mexico. Sky Blue FC draft pick Kiana Palacios and preseason NRI Monica Flores were also selected for team Mexico.

FOX Sports, the home of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, will show 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship across the FOX Sports family of networks. For viewers on the go, matches can be streamed live via and the FOX Sports app.

The USA opens its qualifying tournament on Oct. 4 against Mexico (7:30 p.m. ET). Click here to view the full 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship schedule.