clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kailen Sheridan named to Canada roster for USWNT friendlies

The 22-year-old goalkeeper will face off against Sky Blue FC teammate Kelley O’Hara in the two-game series.

Jose Argueta, ISI Photos

Sky Blue FC goalkeeper Kailen Sheridan has been named to Canada’s 19-player national team roster for a pair of upcoming friendlies against the United States.

The home-and-home series pits the No. 1 USWNT against No. 5 Canada, and highlights the fiercest rivalry for the two teams. As a result, fans of both teams will have the chance to watch the two teams in action on their home soil. The first leg of the series will be played on November 9 at BC Place in Vancouver, while the final match will be played on November 12 at Avaya Stadium in San Jose.

The series also puts Sky Blue teammate against Sky Blue teammate, as co-captain and defender Kelley O’Hara was recently named to Jill Ellis’s U.S. squad for the friendlies.

Sheridan, Sky Blue’s only Canadian federation player, is one of 12 NWSL players on the roster. She is joined by Canada and Portland Thorns captain Christine Sinclair, as well as fellow goalkeepers Stephanie Labbé (Washington Spirit) and Sabrina D’Angelo (North Carolina Courage). FC Kansas City rookie Maegan Kelly also received her first call-up to the senior national team for the camp.

While USWNT Head Coach Jill Ellis continues preparing her U.S. squad for the 2019 World Cup by scheduling matches against Top 10 opponents, Canada Head Coach John Herdman continues his own World Cup preparations by infusing youth players in with his veterans, many of whom have Olympic bronze medals to their names. Herdman has named six teenagers to his roster including UCLA standout Jessie Fleming, recently-named ACC Midfielder of the Year Rebecca Quinn (Duke), and University of Florida’s leading scorer Deanne Rose.

The pair of friendlies between the USWNT and Canada kicks off on Thursday, November 9 at BC Place in Vancouver, with television coverage beginning at 10 p.m. ET on ESPN2. The two teams will travel to the U.S. to conclude the series on Sunday, November 12 at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, with television coverage beginning at 9 p.m. ET on FS1.


Goalkeepers (3): Sabrina D’Angelo (North Carolina Courage), Stephanie Labbé (Washington Spirit), Kailen Sheridan (Sky Blue FC)

Defenders (6): Lindsay Agnew (Washington Spirit), Allysha Chapman (Boston Breakers), Rebecca Quinn (Duke), Jayde Riviere, Ariel Young, Shelina Zadorsky (Washington Spirit)

Midfielders (4): Jesse Fleming (UCLA), Julia Grosso, Maegan Kelly (FC Kansas City), Desiree Scott (FC Kansas City)

Forwards (6): Janine Beckie (Houston Dash), Jordyn Huitema, Adriana Leon (Boston Breakers), Nichelle Prince (Houston Dash), Deanne Rose (Florida), Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns)