clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Erica Skroski Named to U.S. U-23 WNT Roster for Trip to Sweden

The Sky Blue FC defender will compete for USA in the 2017 Women’s U-23 Open Nordic Tournament

Erica Skroski
Sky Blue FC defender Erica Skroski has earned her third call-up to the U.S. U-23 WNT for 2017.
Photo by Howard C. Smith, ISI Photos.

Sky Blue FC defender Erica Skroski was selected to participate in the U.S U-23 WNT trip to the 2017 Women’s U-23 Open Nordic Tournament. The four-team tournament will take place during the international break, and features U-23 teams from Norway, England, Sweden, and the United States. The U.S won the tournament last year on goal differential, narrowly beating out England for the tournament title.

This is Skroski’s third call-up of 2017. She participated in January camp earlier this year, and was most recently named to the U-23 roster for a series of games in La Manga, Spain. While in Spain, Skroski featured for the full 90 minutes twice, and helped the U.S. secure wins in both of her appearances.

For her National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) career, Skroski has been a huge asset for Sky Blue FC’s defense since being drafted to the club in 2016. She appeared in every game during her rookie campaign for Sky Blue FC, and has started every match of the 2017 season thus far.

Of the 22 players named to the roster for the tournament, seven are professionals from the NWSL. The roster is also made up of twelve collegiate players and three players still involved in youth clubs. Six members of the roster have played in a FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, and eight of them have trained with the full U.S Women’s National Team.

The U.S will open up tournament play against Norway in Karlstad, Sweden on June 6th. USA will continue on to Mallbacken, Sweden where they face England on June 9th and Sweden on June 12th.

U.S. Under-23 Women’s National Team Roster – 2017 Women’s U-23 Nordic Open Tournament

GOALKEEPERS (2): Jane Campbell (Houston Dash; Kennesaw, Ga.), Casey Murphy (Rutgers; Bridgewater, N.J.)

DEFENDERS (8): Christina Gibbons (FC Kansas City; Raleigh, N.C.), Zoey Goralski (UCLA; Naperville, Ill.), Ellie Jean (Penn State; Coventry, Conn.), Hailie Mace (UCLA; Ventura, Calif.), Tegan McGrady (Stanford; San Jose, Calif.), Kristen McNabb (Seattle Reign; Montville, N.J.), Kaleigh Riehl (Penn State, Fairfax Station, Va.), Erica Skroski (Sky Blue FC; New Brunswick, N.J.)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Jordan DiBiasi (Stanford; Littleton, Colo.), Jaelin Howell (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.), Mayra Pelayo (Florida; West Palm Beach, Fla.), Brianna Pinto (CASL; Durham, N.C.), Margaret Purce (Boston Breakers; Silver Spring, Md.), Danielle Weatherholt (Orlando Pride; San Clemente, Calif.), Michelle Xiao (Stanford; Omaha, Neb.), Sandra Yu (Notre Dame, Strongsville, Ohio)

FORWARDS (4): Mallory Eubanks (Mississippi State; Lexington, Ky.), Ashley Hatch (NC Courage; Gilbert, Ariz.), Savannah McCaskill (South Carolina; Chapin, S.C.), Sophia Smith (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.)