clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Klinsmann announces USMNT Roster for Mexico Game

Jurgen Klinsmann recently announced the USMNT roster for the CONCACAF Cup Playoff against Mexico on October 10th.

Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Jurgen Klinsmann has announced his 23-man roster for the United States'October 10 match against Mexico. Klinsmann's roster is full of USMNT veterans, but several notable players were omitted from the squad. Centerbacks Omar Gonzalez and John Anthony Brooks were surprisingly left off the roster.

Additionally Werder Bremen forward Aron Johannsson failed to make the roster, as he is currently recovering from an injury. Stanford forward Jordan Morris wasn't included because he is currently playing for the U-23 USMNT in Olympic Qualifying.

The U.S. will face Mexico on Saturday October 10th at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. The winner of the match will represent CONCACAF at the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (9): Ventura Alvarado (Club America), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), Tim Ream (Fulham), Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Danny Williams (Reading), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland), Graham Zusi (Sporting KC)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)